Heart’s Desire

“New crowns for old ones!” –Benjamin Disraeli presents Queen Victoria the crown of India. Punch, 1876, by cartoonist John Tenniel.

“New crowns for old ones!” –Benjamin Disraeli presents Queen Victoria the crown of India. Punch, 1876, by cartoonist John Tenniel.

This is today’s Flash!Friday prompt: 140-160 words, and the story has to involve arrogance…

****************************************************************

He could sense her attention wandering.

“As I was saying,” said Djisraeli the Wizard, “I can offer you this new crown-shaped lamp in exchange for your old -“

“What’s that on your arm?” asked Mrs Aladdin.

“Proof of my genius,” said Djisraeli proudly. “I call it a handbag.”

“What’s in it?” asked Mrs Aladdin.

“Everything I need,” said Djisraeli. “Tissues, money, carpet-keys -”

“It must be wonderful,” said Mrs Aladdin. “You can lay your hand instantly on anything.”

“Er, yes,” said Djisraeli. “You’d think, wouldn’t you?”

“I want it,” said Mrs Aladdin. “I’ll give you this lamp for it.”

“Seriously?” said Djisraeli, turning scornfully away. “You think I’d swap my wonderful invention for some old lamp?”

He was two hundred yards away before what had just happened sank in.

“Djoh,” he said.

Meanwhile Mrs Aladdin sighed, absent-mindedly rubbing her lamp. The Genie emerged.

“I can grant you -” he began.

“A handbag,” said Mrs Aladdin. “Now.”

3 thoughts on “Heart’s Desire

Leave a Reply

