Tinman, Year Upon Year (Part 2)

The continuation of yesterday, in which Tinman gets older, though not noticeably any wiser:

  • 1986: Each year the Amateur Drama Group that I was a member of would put on a Pantomime, and that year I wrote the script, Little Miss Muffet. I subsequently wrote the next four.
  • 1987: My mum died, aged just 55. Not everything about this series is happy.
  • 1988: I am self-employed, starting pretty well from scratch and we are quite staggeringly poor. Mrs Tin’s job keeps us afloat.
  • 1989:
  • 1990: Five years married! We celebrate by Mrs Tin being in Paris visiting her sister, who was working there.
  • 1991: Birth of Tinson1, changing our lives in the best possible way forever.
  • 1992: I get to watch an awful lot of kids’ movies.

    1995, 1996 and 1991

  • 1993: And an awful lot of Power Rangers. 
  • 1994: I mentioned 1984 yesterday, which of course George Orwell wrote in 1948. This is the book he would have written if he’d finished it a tear later. Nothing to do with my life, though it does tell you a lot about how my minds drifts occasionally.
  • 1995: Birth of Tinson2, and proof that two children does not mean half the love each, it just means that the love is doubled.
  • 1996: Birth of Tingirl, and proof love can in fact be trebled. We decide not to see how much further it stretches.
  • 1997: In December I am 40. My party consists of a takeaway Chinese and a cake at home with the kids, then Mrs Tin and I walk to the pub for a couple of drinks together. Best party I’ve ever been at.
  • 1998: It was on one day during this year, when three separate playtime accidents in the space of about thirty seconds left three crying Tinkids, that Mrs Tin and I realised how outnumbered we now were.
  • 1999: First overseas family holiday, to Cabanas in Portugal.
  • 2000: I gave up cigarettes, this time forever.
  • 2001: I had what was basically a nervous breakdown, followed by a long bout of depression. Other people in other parts of the world, of course, had far bigger problems than I had that year.
  • 2002: Got a new client in my then self-employed business. I now work for them full-time and it’s the best job I’ve ever had.
  • 2003: I had decided that my depression was a one off. I was wrong.
  • 2004: God, it was only seven years ago, you think I’d remember something interesting.
  • 2005: Was Best Man for my Dad at his second wedding, a surreal and wonderful experience.
  • 2006: Fell straight forward onto my face on the way home from the pub, permanently scarring my forehead. I believed then that I was pissed as a fart, but now realise that it was my first blackout.

    2007

  • 2007: Blacked out 16 more times that year. Got a heart monitor put in to see if that was the cause. Blacked out on the operating table.
  • 2010 (oh, and 2006)

    2008: Went to the hospital to get the monitor read. They took one look, kept me in and gave me a pacemaker. Created the persona Tinman, now such an important part of my life. Started a blog. Other than that, not much.

  • 2009: During the blackouts I developed a symptom called derealisation, a coping mechanism apparently where everything happens in a bit of a daze. Two years later, there was no sign of the derealisation vanishing, so I was given a shrink to add to the medical team devoted to my care.
  • 2010: Celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary, with a trip to New York. Time flies.
Which brings me up to now. I’m happier than I have been for ages, with good friends as both me and as Tinman. My health is good, my derealisation is still there but I haven’t had a bad bout of depression for about three years.
That’s my life to date, and it’s been pretty good.

17 thoughts on “Tinman, Year Upon Year (Part 2)

    1. Tinman Post author

      Actually, it’s while I was writing all this that I realised how happy I actually am these days, and how far I’ve progressed in the last couple of years.

      (Still have an appointment with the shrink next Thursday week).

      Reply
  1. Elaine

    It’s been really interesting reading your ‘life so far’ yesterday and today – you manage to capture each year very succinctly/amusingly/entertainingly. Some of your memories are very similar to mine too – the moon landing, A Whiter Shade of Pale, 1976 being the hottest summer ever (I was strawberry picking in Herefordshire that year!), watching lots of kids’ films.
    It’s great to read that you are very happy these days – long may it continue!!

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      Thanks, Elaine, I hope it continues too. Lucky you with the strawberry picking, I just remember heading off into town on the bus to my first (indoor) job.

      I did get to read the Lord of The Rings on the bus, though.

      Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      Shite! I was sure yesterday evening that I had four left to do, then put in three and couldn’t find any other year missing.

      Might as well leave it now, it adds an air of mystique. Or stupidity.

      Reply
  2. Inspiration to Dream

    Wow – what a life you’ve had. I loved reading this. 2004 sounds like it was a good year 🙂

    My dad had a pacemaker put in many years ago so much of the last few years that you’ve described resonated with me. I can’t believe that you had so many blackouts before they did more investigating. My dad blacked out once and he was in for a pacemaker two weeks later.

    Glad you’re happy and healthy these days

    Hugs, Fi

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      In fairness to them they were investigating all the time, Fi. The very first thing they gave me was one of those 24-hour heart monitors that you carry around, but because it showed nothing wrong they headed off towards MRIs and other things. It was actually a neurologist who listened to my story and said “I don’t care what heart tests they’ve given you, I’m telling you there’s something wrong with your heart rate, and I’m sending you to see a cardiologist friend of mine.”

      (And thanks for the hugs 😉

      Reply
  3. Patti

    WordPress came up with this idea? It’s a pretty good one – an interesting exercise. I may have to try it before I get any older. I don’t know if I remember where I was when Kennedy was shot – maybe taking a nap. I remember the funeral though – mainly because it pre-empted regular TV programming.

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      I remember Churchill’s funeral for the same reason, Patti, all my favourite programmes were taken off.

      It is a surprisingly good WordPress prompt, isn’t it?

      Reply
  4. Pingback: A Short History Of Tilly Bud In Arcanian « The Laughing Housewife

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.