Family Matters

 

Those of you who followed this blog during its most productive years watched as the Tinkids grew, joining in the celebrations of their birthdays and their various achievements, and thrilling me with how much you all cared about what happened to them, so obviously I have to update you on what they are all be up to now.

Prepare to be astonished, by the next sentence, at the passage of time.

Tinson1 is now twenty-five. After a lot of study and a long time trying to get a job in post-crash Ireland he started work 15 months ago as a medical physicist (no, I don’t know, either) in the Oncology Unit of a hospital in Waterford. Waterford is about 100 miles from where we live, so he has become the first of the Tinkids to leave home. He has an apartment that he loves, a small car that he is slowly learning to drive (and hopefully learning to drive slowly) and a job that he really enjoys.

Tinson2 (twenty-two next month) is in Canada at the moment, where he is nine months into a two-year student visa. He works in a restaurant in the ski resort of Whistler (minus 10 degrees there last week, according to my iPhone), and shares a house which has a stream rushing alongside, snow on its roof (it’s called a snow ‘fro, apparently) and racoons under its deck. It has also had, though only once so far, a bear in its back garden. He’s having the time of his life, and looks really happy whenever we talk to him.

Tingirl, our baby, is now twenty, and is in first-year at college in Carlow Institute of Technology, where she is studying media and public relations, hoping to make a career in radio. She absolutely loves the course, the college, the Foundry (Ireland’s biggest nightclub, situated in Carlow, Wednesday night is Student Night) and her housemates.

Yes, housemates. Carlow is about 60 miles from Greystones, so she has to live there during the week, and although she’s at home every weekend (she’s in the sitting room watching This Is Us with Mrs Tin as I write this), it means that during the week Mrs Tin and I are empty-nesters.

And Mrs Tin? Still the best, supportive when I was sick, supportive when I cut my working week, putting a brave face on the fact that I am at home for two extra days each week to drive her mental. I’ve talked before about her sense of humour, and it’s best summed up by what we have in our kitchen now:

5 thoughts on “Family Matters

  1. prenin

    LoL!!! 🙂

    Yes I got the empty nest syndrome when my God daughter and her siblings grew past the need for me to look after them (40 years of unstinting support has led to them being lovely people) and now I’ve been adopted as an uncle!!! 🙂

    The shit I was being put through is petering out slowly, but 27 years of being under a microscope in an effort to find ANYTHING to pin on me took its toll so I can relate with your period of illness.

    I just hope things work out better my friend and that all the love in the world be with you and yours.

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

    Reply
  2. laughykate

    That’s funny. It’s exactly what I wondered when I was reading your post yesterday – how the rest of the Tin family were going! I was hoping that they were all Tin-tastic and am so delighted to have it confirmed.

    Reply
  3. speccy

    The little Tins are properly grown up! Delighted the family are all so well. Totally stealing Mrs Tin’s wonderful clock idea in due course!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

