Home Improvement

Regular readers (by which I mean people who often visit this blog, not people who have a monthly subscription to National Geographic) will have noticed that the layout has changed a number of times over the last few weeks. Like many homeowners (and this is my home, at least spiritually) feel the need to re-decorate every now and then, if only to hide the wine stains on the carpet and paint over the crayon drawings on the walls. It can be tedious explaining why, after drinking so much wine that you dropped your glass, you decided to try to draw Wonder Woman on your wall.

The advantage of re-decorating a blog is that you simply have to select a theme from among the hundreds available, and if you decide after a few days that you don’t like it you simply opt for another one. House re-decoration requires more thought, because if you find that the paint colour referred to on the tin as “Summer Sky” is in fact a leaden grey, then you are stuck with the feeling that you are living inside a submarine for the next five years.

Anyway, I’ve settled on this one. It’s brigh and has all the of the features, such as a list of all of your comments, that I like. It also has a “Follow” button (no pressure, I’m just saying) and it informs me that I have 825 followers. What number do I need to officially qualify as a cult leader?

And the photo at the top of the blog? Sorry, I haven’t figured out yet how to change it.

It’s a picture, by the way, of the en-suite of the guest bedroom in the left wing of the Tinhouse.

5 thoughts on “Home Improvement

  1. prenin

    Apparently battleship grey is now described as ‘Dove Grey’ by the people replacing my bathroom! 🙂

    Have fun with the themes – I haven’t changed mine in years!!! 🙂

    God Bless my friend – love the en-suite, but it’s bit of a hike to find the loo!!! 🙂

    Prenin.

    Reply
  2. Suzanne

    Another blog renovator making changes right now. I’ve been doing the same thing. Maybe it’s something to do with the eclipses 🙂

    Reply
  3. Janie Jones

    How does one reserve a visit to the Tinhouse guest suite? I’ve got about 40 years of vacation time banked, it looks like touring and fully appreciating the suite could take that whole time…

    Reply
  4. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

    I’d be scared to use that posh bathroom! Nice theme, blog easy to read, so thumbs up from me. How do you know how many followers you have? Every time I have a new follower, and I’ve had loads during Napowrimo, the number stays the same.

    I haven’t changed the look of my blog for years, as I did it myself. You can customise by clicking on “appearance” and clicking on various options but I can’t for the life of me remember how I did mine!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

