First Case

This photo was today’s Flash! Friday prompt, and we had to include a detective…

Samantha Spade

Her perfume arrived before she did, like a butler announcing a duchess.

“You Sam Spade?” she asked.

“That’s what it says on the door, Doll,” I replied.

“No it isn’t,” she said. “It says ‘Samantta Spaid’.”

I shrugged. “You pay peanuts,” I said, “you’re not gonna get the kind of monkeys who might type Hamlet someday.”

“I’ve never met a female gumshoe before,” she said.

“Gumshoe?” I pointed to my feet on the desk. “These are genuine Manolos. Though I did once have to superglue a heel back on.”

“Whatever,” she said. “I want you to follow my husband.”

“Fifty bucks a day,” I said. “Plus expenses.”

She handed me a MetroCard.

“What’s this?” I asked.

“Your expenses,” she said. “He’s a subway driver.”

So here I am on the dawn subway, tailing my target from a discreet distance. Four carriages, to be exact.

It’s not quite the car chase from Bullitt, but a girl’s gotta start somewhere.

3 thoughts on “First Case

Leave a Reply

