Short Flash

*

The sky burned.

The explosion that had preceded the inferno had been deafening. A Big Bang, in fact.

Gabriel and God stared in astonishment.  A feather fell slowly, like a snowflake, from Gabriel’s smouldering wings. God’s face was blackened, cartoon-like, while smoke drifted in wisps from his beard.

“Was that supposed to happen?” asked Gabriel, once his ears had stopped ringing.

God looked down at his blueprint. “Damn,” he said.  “Er, if you’ll pardon the expression. I was supposed to use nitrogen, not nitro-glycerine.”

******************************************************

The sky(Ok, I may have to explain this. A lady called Alyssa Leonard runs a 24-hour competition each Tuesday called “Finish That Thought” in which an opening sentence is given and you’ve to finish the story. On Tuesday the sentence was “The sky burned” and we weren’t to exceed 500 words. I used 84, thought “well, I won’t get anywhere with that” and this morning got an email to say I’d won. My prize is to pick next week’s sentence and judge the entries, is the scariest thing I’ve ever done on the internet, which tells you an awful lot about my life).

(The photo is not of the sky burning, it’s sunrise over Killiney bay, just south of Dublin, and was taken by me)

6 thoughts on “Short Flash

  1. Mom's Muse

    I really enjoyed the description of God and Gabriel’s reaction to the Big Bang. You need to bring all those theoretical physicist up to speed – now we REALLY know how the universe began! I’m reblogging this. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

