Globe Trotting

The Tinhouse is bereft of women this week, as Mrs Tin and Tingirl have gone to London. They intend to indulge in mother-daughter bonding, visit the Sherlock Holmes Museum (Tingirl is a firm fan) and shop, According to an email I got from Tingirl they have already been to a “beetles exhibition”, by which I don’t think she meant something about insects.

The main purpose of the trip, though, is to visit the Globe Theatre, since Tingirl is so consumed by acting and intends to try to pursue it as a career.

They are going tonight to see A Midsummer Night’s Dream, firstly because, well, it’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Secondly they picked that because the School Musical this year was All Shook Up, which is built of course around Elvis songs, but apparently it uses A Midsummer Night’s Dream as a framework upon which to build it.

This may be why it’s better than Mamma Mia, which is built around Abba songs, but apparently upon a framework of the actors saying whatever comes into their heads next.

The girls bought the tickets online. We have all bought stuff online, and are used to filling in the little drop-down box that asks if we are Mr, Mrs or Ms. Slightly posher websites may also concede that some of us might like to be referred to as “Dr” (I haven‘t seen one that that offers the option “Bgr” for blogger, though looking at the abbreviation, it’s probably just as well).

Buy tickets for the Globe, though, and you are offered these choices:

0 (2)

We chickened out of Princess, but I hope that Air Commodore Tingirl has a super time.

12 thoughts on “Globe Trotting

  1. prenin

    Love it!!! PMSL!!! 🙂

    Looks like somebody has an excellent sense of humour at the globe!!! 🙂

    God Bless my friend!!! 🙂

    Prenin.

    Reply
  2. Elaine - I used to be indecisive

    I think they’ll have a great time at the Globe. I was there just last week (I must finish writing my post about it!) for the very first time, and I saw A Midsummer Night’s Dream, which was excellent, and very funny.
    Brilliant drop down menu! I haven’t seen one like that before. 😀

    Reply
  3. mairedubhtx

    We here in the States don’t have nearly the title option that the Globe has. Just Mr., Mrs., Miss, and Ms. We don’t even go for Dr. or Prof. We do care about what title the ladies want, apparently.

    Reply
  4. kateshrewsday

    Hope they have alovely time at the Globe, Tinman. Very cool place, far cooler than I thought it would be, considering it’s almost brand new by London standards. The power of the reconstruction!

    Nice weather for it too. Though a wooly jumper is still advisable, don’t you think?

    Reply
  5. 5:33 AM

    Yesterday, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to
    see if it can survive a forty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is entirely off
    topic but I had to share it with someone!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

