Home > It's all about me > Now That Hurt

Now That Hurt

I pride myself on looking younger (and hotter) than I actually am. Just one week ago, when renewing my gym membership, I told the girl behind the counter that I now qualify for a cheaper rate because I’m over 55, and waited for and duly received the gratifying “really?”.

So I suppose I deserve what happened yesterday.

I was last to read at the Writers’ Workshop, so when I had finished we all got up to leave. A young lady came up to me and told me that she really enjoyed my piece. She said it rang very true, exactly as little boys behave.

I thanked her for saying, so, feeling inside the warm glow that only true smugness can bring.

Then she said: “Did you base it on your grandson?”

 

  1. Jo
    January 27, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    Aw, come on, you COULD have a grandson! There’s younger grandads than you out there :)

  2. January 27, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    I enjoyed that :)

  3. January 27, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    Oh shoot! LoL!!!

    I guess none of us are aging gracefully… ;)

    God Bless! :)

    Prenin.

  4. January 27, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    Ouch! But Grandchildren are the ones who make getting old a pleasure!

  5. January 27, 2013 at 10:48 pm

    Although I qualify now, I used to cringe when I was asked a few times if I wanted the senior discount before I was eligible. :(

  6. January 28, 2013 at 2:42 am

    Bugger. I am hearing you. I am always vaguely disappointed that the women at the supermarket check out are completely disinterested in asking how old I am, when I am buy either beer or wine. Last time I got asked I was 41. That was a great day.

  7. January 28, 2013 at 7:38 am

    Ouch!

    It’s embarrassing on both sides – I was chatting to a man at church last week and asked him how his teenage granddaughter was enjoying her visit…it still hurts.

  8. January 28, 2013 at 10:51 am

    Oooooh, now that smarts, Tinman….

  9. January 28, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    Not exactly the response you were looking for, was it? Yes, we’re all getting older. Not necessarily better, but older.

  10. January 29, 2013 at 1:29 am

    Ouch indeed.

  11. January 30, 2013 at 4:07 am

    Oh, I’m sorry it hurt, but it’s pretty damned funny, too!

  12. February 4, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    I feel your pain. people regularly remarked to me how generous my father was to me when he bought me a gift, they were talking about jack who was signing the cheque! What did we do? We both laughed out loud.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 968 other followers

