Wide Awake

If you finish a post with the sentence “things are pretty bad when even spammers think you write crap” and then don’t publish anything for five days it makes you look just a little bit thin-skinned.

My absence has not been due to negative reviews, but to negative sleep.

The eleven day Christmas break has messed with my sleep patterns, and has left me with just two. In one of them I fall asleep at nine, wake at midnight and lie awake for the rest of the night. In the other I don’t fall asleep until two and then wake at five. The mathematics of each pattern is the same – for the past week I have been surviving on three hours sleep per night.

Surviving is a relative term. I have been surviving in the same way that zombies do – not eating brains, of course, but lurching slowly about and having unruly hair.

In such circumstances writing anything even remotely funny is difficult. Writing one’s own name is difficult.

On the bus home yesterday I turned on my laptop, then decided that I just couldn’t be bothered. I had to wait for it to finish starting up, of course, before I could close it down, the guy sitting beside me must have thought that I was trying a variant on “have you tried turning it off and turning it back on again”.

Having spent yesterday at work with the attention span of a goldfish and the inner rage of a goldfish (wouldn’t you be pissed off at being stuck in a small round bowl?) I set about changing things. I sat reading until 9.30 last night, swore to myself that no matter what I would not get up until my alarm clock (brief interlude – thank God I read this post back, the last word originally said something else) went off, and I managed to sleep for eight hours. I did wake on several occasions, but only for a couple of seconds, and that’s as close as I ever get to a full night’s sleep anyway.
So I’m back. It’s 7.15 as I write this on the bus and I feel rested and content. I have no ideas for posts for the rest of the week, but I promise I will think of something.

Otherwise I’m just going to start copying and pasting my spam comments.

8 thoughts on “Wide Awake

  1. vivinfrance

    It’s the winter blues, Tin – this is part of the poem i wrote yesterday.

    lethargy and indolence
    have stolen my get-up-and-go
    Writing seems too strenuous –
    I might just sit and think
    for a while, go with the flow.

    I didn’t know it was infections online, but a lot of others seem to find the same.

    Reply
  2. Jo

    Good work.Sleep has been extremely weird in this house the last week too. And this morning. Ugh. Alarm at 7.30 and I couldn’t drag myself out of the bed til 8.25. Awful awful!

    Reply
  3. A Frend

    I’m so impressed at your ability to sort out your insomnia – well done! I’m struggling with something similar and find it extraordinarily hard to find the will power to make the necessary changes.

    Reply
  4. prenin

    Sounds like me!

    I have an irregular sleep pattern due to my medication, so I do sympathise!

    Thankfully I don’t work for a living! 🙂

    God Bless and I hope you feel better soon!

    Prenin.

    Reply
  5. mairedubhtx

    So sorry you’re having such a problem with insomnia. Not being able to sleep is extremely frustrating. I don’t suffer from it myself. I take enough different meds that put me to sleep each night and I have a very restful sleep. But I have suffered from insomnia at times and know the pain of it. We’ll be here waiting for you to post more of your wonderful stories. In the meantime, I hope you get some sleep.

    Reply
  6. Grannymar

    You have my sympathy. I can count on one hand the nights I have had 5 consecrative hours sleep since Christmas 1991. For most of those years a spell of three hours sleep was a good night. Thankfully I don’t work any more. The scary bit for me is that I often waken with angina in the we small hours. Thankfully I am a calm person, otherwise my situation would be so much worse.

    Try stretching like a cat does, before relaxing and curling into a ball. Sweet dreams.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

