All The Fives

*

Its my birthday!!!!

I am 55 today, which I believe is described as middle-aged. This implies that I am going to live to be a hundred-and-ten and I am quite happy about this, it means I may get to finish all the Game of Thrones books.

For my birthday I have been given, well, nothing. Fear not, this is simply because I leave the house in the morning before any of my family are awake. When I arrive home I will receive three home-made cards from the Tinkids, and a bought one from Mrs Tin. We will have a cake, and candles, and photos. Every now and then, out of the blue, I will be enveloped in a group hug by all four of them, who will shout “Birthday Boy!”. This torture is carried out on any Tinfamily member unfortunate enough to have a birthday, and is something potential sons-or-daughters-in-law might like to bear in mind.

I will also be given the surprise present of a phone. I know this because I bought it myself, over two weeks ago now, and have manfully resisted the temptation to use it since, or even to bring it to work today, since it has not yet been given to me.

This means that I will have a working camera again, which means that I can take photos for the Weekly Photo Challenge instead of using it as inspiration for some daft story or other.

I’ve decided not to. I’m having too much fun with the stories.

Tomorrow I will be older (now there’s a sentence that you’t can’t fault for accuracy), but today is just special.

Happy birthday to me.

25 thoughts on “All The Fives

  1. speccy

    Happy Birthday Tinman 🙂 I hope you enjoy the phone, the real cake, Tilly’s cake, and all the spontaneius bear hugs. that sounds like a wonderful family tradition x

    Reply
  2. viveka

    tinman …. Congratulations … from Linda’s blogging friend in Sweden. I wish a wonderful day tomorrow too .. and the next day and the next day and the next day and the next day and the next day and the next day …

    Reply
  3. Pseu

    I’m late, I’m late, for a very important date! Next year I shall try and remember you are 4 days less than three years younger than me.

    Reply
    1. Pseu

      the key is that you are younger than me… so my birthday comes first. (I had to come over and see what rubbish I had left!)

      Reply
      1. Pseu

        tin fact that is completely wrong! You are three years older than me, less four days! (i.e. I was 52 on the 9th. I’ll shut up now and go to hide in a box)

  4. westseventhfreelance

    Belated greetings! I will be “all the fives” on 2/6 and am feeling happier about it having read your post. I look forward to the next 55…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

