Word Games

Bruce Holland Rogers (nah, me neither) wrote: “When fiction writers want to write to a fixed form, they often have to start by inventing the form. The constraints that they choose can be anything. They can specify word counts, sentence lengths or vocabulary requirements – no use of the letter e for example, or the story must contain 26 words, one for each letter of the alphabet, in alphabetical order.”

 

I’ve decided to try these, because they sound like an interesting intellectual exercise, and not in any way because I can’t think of anything else to write about:

The 26-word thing:

All Big Cats Die, Eventually, From Greedy Hunters, Insulting JK Lowling (Misprint, Naturally), Or Poison-Quilled Raccoons. Some Trampled Under XIII Young Zebras.  

The No ‘e’ thing:

I want to do a post that will not put a particular non-consonant in it. This will tax my brain, as it is most common of all. It’s a good job I chose not to do drugs (as a post, not as an addiction) as nobody swallows pills of D, F or JLS.

The sentence length thing

Each sentence will have six words. The first sentence has decided that. There’s not a lot to say. Not in just six words anyway. I’m counting “there’s” as one word. The same rule goes for “I’m”. Readers are thinking “he’s gone mad”. Others think “well, we knew that”. I may get unfollowed by many. This will hurt my pride, people. People is there as a sixth word. This is really not all that hard. Crap, don’t count last sentence’s words. I think that’s enough of this. Don’t you, question mark smiley face?

12 thoughts on “Word Games

  1. Patti

    Good exercises! I may have to try that on a day when I don’t know what to write about. Oops, I mean, on a day when I’m feeling particularly clever and mentally agile.

    Reply
  2. Pseu

    Zeuth, you xcelled!
    Understanding these strange requirements quite peplexes (or normally muddles) lesser keen journalists in heavy gaberdine fedoras.
    Enticingly each damn cad becomes ambitious.

    Reply
    1. Pseu

      Actually be calm: don’t exaggerate for good heart. I just know lexicography must now open possibilities, quite rare still, Tinman. Unfortunately very weak x-rays.
      your zoolologist

      Reply
      1. Pseu

        I have done this exercise once before, from a ‘writing poetry’ book… but different set of words this time!… I find it forces the mind to think in different ways….

  3. petthespacefishies

    Hi there. I’ve read three of your recent posts, and have decided I like you, Tinman 🙂 Consider yourself followed – I’m looking forward to reading more!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

