Weekly Photo Challenge: Merge

In which a man with no camera takes on the WordPress Photo Challenge anyway…

*********************************************************************

“I  believe you’re on holiday this week, Tinman?”

“Yes, that’s right.”

“So, what are you doing? Crossing the Alps with hundreds of elephants? Diving for treasure on  a sunken wreck in the Caribbean? Going over Niagara Falls in a barrel?”

“Watching the rain through the window of a house in Greystones.”

“Ah, you’re having a staycation.”

“A what?”

“It’s a Word Merge. It’s like Brangelina, or brunch, or Mensa.”

“Mensa?”

“Marks and Spensa.”

“Er, I don’t think -”

“Well, ‘staycation’ is like that. It’s short for ‘staying at home for your vacation’.  It’s for people who are on holiday, but too poor to go anywhere – no offence, Tinman.”

“Er, none taken, I suppose.”

“It’s a really cool word.”

“No it isn’t. It’s shitiful.”

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Merge

  1. Janie Jones

    Hey don’t despair. You could have spent a lot of hard earned money to go somewhere then been stuck in your hotel while it rains. Personally, I like staycations. I hardly ever get time to just hang around the house in my pajamas and do nothing all day. And, in Janie’s world it seems like real vacations always disappoint and end up making me more tired and stressed out than I was before so I need a staycation to recuperate from my vacation. But, you all know I’m weird, so maybe I haven’t really made staycations sound any better….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

