I Can See For Miles

I mentioned recently that I have acquired two pairs of glasses, one for short-range vision, one for seeing things farther away. It’s kind of an Amish version of bi-focals.

Anyway, things have gone fairly well up to now. I can read comfortably with the short-range pair, and, should I feel the sudden urge to do so, I could probably thread a needle, count the spots on the back of a ladybird, or, if not actually being able to count the angels dancing on the head of a pin, at least be able to see that they are there.

With the other pair I can see the surface of Saturn.

The two pairs came in identical cases, so I’m sure I don’t have to paint pictures of what happened this morning (you’ve seen my attempts at pictures, just imagine them with the wrong glasses).

I got onto the bus, fired up my netbook and started to type. What appeared on the screen appeared to be gibberish, which was probably actually the case, but blurred gibberish. On the other hand I could see traffic lights two miles away turning red, cyclists with no Hi-viz jackets were hi viz to me, and I could tell, not only how many passengers were at the next stop, but whether they were carrying the correct change or not, all of which would all have been more useful if I’d actually been driving the bus.

It’s a long and slow day when you struggle to read a computer screen, can’t tell 8s from 6s and generally manage to achieve nothing.

Though on the bright side, at least you can see the boss when he’s coming to see just how much nothing you are achieving.

7 thoughts on “I Can See For Miles

  1. Pseu

    Well, lets hope you don’t do that again. I have vari-focals and can’t function without them! But at least it is one pair of normal ones (and a pair of sunglasses).

    Reply
  2. The Wanderlust Gene

    Commiserations:) I’ve got a new pair of photo-grey multi-focals which cures me of all ills – except I can’t read the instructions on anything, and trip over things underfoot … 😦

    Reply
  3. speccy

    I was thinking I should admit defeat and opt for bifocals next time, but you’ve convinced me to stick with ‘specs on’ ‘specs off’ for another while. To think I used to laugh at my dad when he took his glasses off to read…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

