Dial 999

As I was approaching my 100th post I got the idea from Jo of using that post to list one hundred things that I like. I started work on it at about the 70-post mark, making my choices, deciding on a running order and (sorry SOPA) picking photos that I would use.

I’m not going to link to the list, but it includes things like cricket, Star Trek, Big Brother and (sigh) women’s bums (with a terrific photo of Yelena Isinbeyeva to show what I meant, in case any of the four readers I had at that time didn’t know what a woman’s bum was).

Eventually I decided that the post was finished and ready to go, but obviously it was number-specific, in that I could only use it for my 100th post or it was pointless. And I had only written 95 posts.

Oh, how I limped agonisingly towards the target. My 96th post was about cats or something, the 97th was as exciting as watching paint dry (it may well have been about watching paint dry), the 98th was written in Urdu.

For the next one I wrote a post called “Stuck on 99” in which I confessed that one of my first loves was Agent 99 from the original “Get Smart” TV series. I reported how as I got older I moved on to Emma Peel from the Avengers, then to Purdey from the New Avengers. I showed a photo of each of them, meaning that SOPA now have a file on me an inch thick (that’s true, I’d show you a picture of the file if they’d let me).

That was over three years ago, but each week I get three or four visitors here who arrive having typed “Agent 99” or something similar into Google Images. This is because, if you try it, the first picture of her brings you to my blog, so complete strangers hoping to read about her get instead  to read some bloke constantly writing about how he can’t think of anything to write about. I’d imagine few of them come back.

Thus my 99th post is more famous than my 100th, and that is why I have decided to make a bigger deal of today’s post, my 999th, than I will of tomorrow’s (yes, it will be tomorrow, anyone who has to skip a day because he can’t even think to write “today’s is my 1000th post” really does have Blogger’s Block).

It is possible that the title of this post may cause inconvenience to some people, but I doubt it.

Anyway, anyone who types “Dial 999” into Google instead of actually dialling 999 possibly deserves to have their house burn down.

7 thoughts on “Dial 999

  1. Patti

    Wow. Congratulations! I think laughykate is right to promote you to King. Seems mandatory. And here in the states, I’m not sure what dialing 999 would get me – probably some kind of rude beeping signal. For us, it’s 911 (which my daughter dialed once when she was 18 months old when I gave her to phone handset to play with – I figured, “what are the odds that she’ll actually make a connection?” But, it was the day after Christmas and we lived in a very peaceful town, so it was probably the big excitement for the day for the policeman who came to the door.

    Reply
  2. Grannymar

    You had me worried when I first saw the title. Phew! Congratulations on making that special number 999.

    In a past life (was there only one?) I worked on the 999 service in Dublin. In recent years I unfortunately needed to call from the other side of the line. As you can see I survived to tell the tale. Now keep rolling the posts out with the help of 999!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

