Getting Shorter

This week’s Six Word Saturday is

Getting Up In The Dark Again

I get up at 6.15 each morning and all last week, for the first time in months, it has been dark when I’ve been getting up.

Not Stygian blackness, (though that can’t actually have been totally dark, how would the ferryman have found his way across the Styx, he might just have rowed around in circles. And how would he know you’d given him the right money, you could have given him an “I Am 4 Today”button for all he’d know) but just dark enough that I’ve had to turn on the light in the kitchen while I was making breakfast.

Autumn is upon us.

Over the years people have tried to make Autumn sound like a Good Thing. The Autumn section of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons has the nicest music of all of the four sections. Keats burbles on about mists and mellow fruitfulness (though remember that he died young from consumption, probably from hanging about in the mists). Sky Sports keep reminding us that the new football season starts in Autumn (they’ve actually been rabbiting on about that since May since they’ve no decent sport to show during the summer). Americans refer to it as Fall, making it sound less forbidding and also easier to spell.

If its all that great then why do birds gather together in their hundreds, fly around in circles for a while like looners, then sod off south until spring.

No, the fact is that Autumn is the warm-up guy for the main act of Winter, though warm-up is the wrong expression. This week has been chilly, and coming from an Irishman that’s bad, we regard anything above 18 degrees as stifling.

Soon it will be dark not just when I get up for work, but still dark when I get there. It will be dark when I leave to come home.

Any day now a Christmas ad will appear on the TV, and I will throw something at the screen.

The only good thing that can be said for Autumn is that without it the apple would not have dropped onto Isaac Newton’s head. In that case he would never have invented gravity, and my laptop would now be floating just above my head, slightly out of reach.

(For more Six Word Saturday posts, go here:)

http://www.showmyface.com/

40 thoughts on “Getting Shorter

  1. viv blake

    Tinman, I think you got out of bed on the wrong side. Now you’ve depressed me, what are you going to do to cheer me up? Autumn is often the best season here.

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      Yes, but since we had a crap summer, having the warmest weather since July is not saying a lot. It’s like saying Charlie’s Angels 2 is the best film since Charlies Angels 1.

      Reply
  2. Inspiration to Dream

    As your day light hours get shorter, our daylight hours get longer. I’m truly a spring / summer sort of girl and look forward to it immensely.

    Getting up to sunshine and coming home in sunshine is definitely more energising.

    I’ll enjoy a moment or two of it for you 🙂

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      Thanks, Fi. One of the things that makes it better since I started blogging is that now I know people whose summer is starting as our winter is, so at least I know that they’re enjoying themselves.

      Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      I’ve read that on your blog, you have trouble sleeping. I used to be like that, awake at 3.30 every night/morning, it’s really tough.

      Reply
  3. mairedubhtx

    I understand that Autumn can be a bit depressing as I’ve lived in the northern latitudes. But now here in south Texas we look forward to it, not just because of football, but it brings the promise of cooler weather (something under 33°C would be most welcome). But it hasn’t come yet and we’re all waiting anxiously for it.

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      I don’t usually get bothered by Autumn, Maire, it just that our last two winters have been so severe compared to what we were used to that it’s sad to think that winter’s not too far away again.

      Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      A lot of people do, Jill, and normally I don’t mind it too much, but the last two have been a nightmare here, we don’t know how to keep roads open, keep public transport going, stuff like that.

      Happy winter to you when it comes!

      Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      Oh, it does… for most of the summer, when it’s been bright I’ve been getting up early enough to have breakfast before I go to work, but once it’s really dark I’ll just snuggle down for a few minutes more and have breakfast at work. I do work while I’m eating, though (my boss knows I have this blog).

      Reply
  4. bench

    That is so true about us losing the light in the morning and evenings and autumn is descending upon us. I get up at 5 o’clock for the gym and when we would leave the gym, it would be light, but now we go and come back in total darkness. Autumn can be nice if you life in a place where the trees change to brillant colors; always enjoyed seeing that when I lived at such places. Came visiting from Six-Word Saturday.

    hope the weekend is relaxful

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      “I get up at 5 o’clock for the gym”. Wow, well done.

      I make myself walk up the four flight of stairs to the office each morning and am quite proud of myself.

      Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      I understand, Stephanie, a lot of the States has had a really hot, stifling summer and so you must all welcome Autumn.

      Reply
  5. Karen S.

    I know…darkness is arriving early again too….last night at 8:30 is was already dark…why oh why can’t we have summer as it should be clear through November! Please! I beg of you !!! 😉

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      Or even have summer at all, in this year’s case, Karen. Quite often September is beautiful here, but so far (I know it’s only starting) it’s been quite cold.

      Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      I find longer days encourage me to wrap up my business, Nancy, so I can splodge in the sun in the back garden. 🙂 (<- like that one).

      Reply
  6. Jim

    Hey, T.M. ~~ This is one bunch of Six Words to make me happy again that I’m retired. Even so, 8:00 is my getting up time so really I won’t have to get up in the dark (to stay).

    Thank you for peeking in on my daughter’s blog, Karen on the Run ( http://karenontherun.wordpress.com/ ). She works in London and her and her family are living there. Before she moved we all visited Dublin. I’ve been there before and since. http://jimmiehov.blogspot.com/search?q=dublin
    ..
    Happy 6WS! I am not playing this week.
    ..

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      I’m glad I went to Karen’s blog, Jim, the pictures there are lovely, especially the ones of your granddaughter.

      And thanks for the link to your trip to Dublin. As soon as I saw the round tower I knew you’d been to Glendalough, it’s in the same county (Wicklow) that I live in, about ten miles away.

      (Sorry you broke your kneecap here, so much for our Hundred Thousand Welcomes).

      Reply
  7. Janie Jones

    Tinman, despite the fact that I love Fall (even disguised as Autumn) I must agree one hundred and fifty percent with you regarding the darkness downside. I have been enjoying the freedom of Summer and no school to get up at a much later hour, but starting Tuesday the spud returns to school and I must pull my sorry bones from bed at 6am. Ugh. Hello, Darkness my old friend.

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      It’s tough isn’t it, Janie. Especially since my bones are a lot older and sorrier than yours.

      Plus you’re six hours behind me. Does that make a difference?

      Reply
      1. Janie Jones

        Well, let’s see…. If I got up the same time you did, it would be quarter past midnight here, so I reckon there’d be little point in actually going to bed. Therefore, getting up wouldn’t be much of a problem, just the staying up part.

  8. Marisa @ Walking My Ass Off

    I love autumn although it does suck that it’s dark now when i walk in the morning. I have to be on the road by 6:00 in order to get an hour walk in before my daycare kiddies arrive…which also means I now have to gear up with florescent vest etc. Another few weeks and it will be dark enough that a flashlight will be needed.

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      I’ve read on your blog about all the walking you do, Marisa, well done. I suppose at least it will be cool when you’re walking.

      It’s a long day, getting up, walking and then dealing with daycare, but I’m sure you enjoy it.

      Reply
  9. Martha

    I love autumn! After a long hot, bright summer, I look forward to short days and longer nights. My pets make sure I am up around 6am, no matter how light or dark it is outside!

    Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      Yes, if we had a summer as dreadfully hot as the States seem to have had this year I’m sure I’d welcome autumn too. It’s just that we’ve had no real summer here this year and the arrival of Autumn is the final sign that we’re not even going to get a late one.

      Thanks to you too for stopping by here.

      Reply
  10. Call Me Cate

    I’ve noticed that as well. Autumn excites me because I’m tired of the heat but I will miss the extra light. I will join you in throwing things at the tv – Christmas in my world doesn’t start until after Thanksgiving.

    Thanks for playing 6WS!

    Reply
  11. Grannymar

    Three weeks ago I donned an extra layer of clothes because my bones went cold. Time to air the thermals, me thinks. As I get older I hate the dark hours. When the day turns to monochrome I want to get into my bed and cover my head with a duvet.

    Reply
  12. laughykate

    I suppose it would be inappropriate for me to start gloating about spring………?

    (Especially cause I know it’s just going to roll around and bite me on the arse in six months time).

    No gloating.

    Nope, none whatsoever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

