Weekly Photo Challenge: Up

As I have said before I take on the Weekly Photo Challenge each week equipped only with my mobile phone. Thus I don’t have the benefit of zoom, slow motion or any of that fancy crap. I might as well have an early 20th century machine on a tripod in front of me, with a little cloth canopy over my head and a tray of sulphur in my left hand.

The problem with the topic Up with such primitive equipment is that, unless you simply intend to picture people taller than you (too wide a range of potential subjects in my case) then anything up is also usually far away.

For example, this is the front of our next-door neighbour’s house:

There were people working of their roof for the whole of last weekend, and this picture is of a brush that one of them has left behind. You’d have to have been pretty desperately looking upwards for things to picture to have even noticed that it was there.

And this is a magpie on the roof at the back of our same neighbour’s house:

You’ll have to take my word for it that it is a magpie. In fact, I should just have lied and said it was a puffin.

Other than these too I have little to picture. My walks to and from work have yielded no pictures of men up ladders, paragliders or rooftop jumpers (it would have been callous to picture the last of these if there had been but, hey, I have a blog to fill).

So in the end I have decided that I will go with idea that I am the one who is Up, so this is a picture looking down from the balcony that runs around our floor in our new office:

Given my fear of heights I think it’s a pretty noble effort.

13 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Up

    1. Tinman Post author

      A postively scary perpective in that last shot, bluebee. And high praise from you, your pictures are always terrific.

      Reply
  1. Grannymar

    Next time this subject comes up (pun intended) lie on the floor under the table and hey presto, a most unusual shot!

    Glad you didn’t try this lying on the ground and looking up lark…. at the bus stop or crossing O’Connell Bridge!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

