Filter Tip

Those of you from countries with more culinary taste than these isles may never have heard of Spam. (I had thought that the USA was among those countries, but intensive research, or looking up Wikipedia as it is more commonly known, tells me that 3.8 cans are consumed every second in the US, and that the town of Austin, Minnesota, where it is produced, is known as Spam Town USA).

Spam is a rectangular slab of meat sold in a rectangular metal tin. It is the colour of an Irish person’s shoulders after his first full day on a Lanzarote beach (“Sun Cream? No way, sure how will I get a tan?”). The phrase “shocking pink” is the only way to describe it, the shock being that something that pink could possibly be considered edible. To further whet your appetite it has what Wikipedia calls a “gelatinous glaze”. In other words it is covered in a peculiar jelly-like substance like semi-frozen Vaseline.

What animal it is made of, and what part of what animal it is made of, is a complete mystery.

But not as big a mystery as why its rival on the market when we were kids was called Unox Luncheon Meat. It does not do to have a vivid imagination when tucking into that.

Anyway, you can tell that I have very little to write about today when I tell you that I am bringing Spam up (as I’m sure has happened to it many times) purely to ask this question:

Do you reckon the Spam company even bother trying to send email?

16 thoughts on “Filter Tip

  1. Tinman Post author

    Thanks, Nancy, I was nearly embarrassed sending it out because I really was stuck for something to write about today. I’m feeling better about it already.

    Reply
  2. laughykate

    What I want to know is……how did anyone EVER manage to come up with the idea ? ‘Let’s take something that we can tell people is meat (even though we know it’s technically not) and we’ll…I know! We’ll put it in a tin can!! BRILLIANT!!’

    The only other variation of meat that I know that comes in a tin can is cat food.

    Reply
  3. Tinman Post author

    God, I never thought of cat food.

    Offer a cat Spam, though, and I bet it’d just give you that look of utter disdain that only cats can give, then walk off.

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      It was like a slice of corned beef, only two inches thick. It would have useful in the States last week as sandbagging against potential floods.

      Reply
  4. Inspiration to Dream

    I thought Australia was the only country that sold this interesting ‘meat’. When I was a kid my dad used to eat slices of Spam with baked beans as a snack. Can’t say I was that keen myself.

    Well done on your originality – I can probably guarantee you’re the only one in the blogosphere posting about Spam today 🙂

    Reply
  5. Tinman Post author

    I can’t believe the numbers of places that sold Spam either, Fi – I honestly though it was sold only in the UK and here.

    Reply
  6. Janie Jones

    Stuff Posing As Meat.

    It is occasionally eaten in the Jones household, though, Leif is more fond of it than I (he is, after all, a Viking). Not bad sliced thin, fried with eggs and served with melted cheese on toast as a breakfast sandwich.

    Spam, spam, spam, spam, spam. Spammity spam, wonderful spam.

    Reply
  7. Gobetween

    We don’t have Spam in South Africa the tinned meat here is called Bully Beef or Corned Beef … BUT … it is also a mystery where the meat comes from and one of the ingredients listed is Chicken 😦

    Reply
  8. Patti

    I’m not sure I ever ate Spam, but when I was a kid, one of my favorite foods was Treet meat – same thing – supposedly less greasy. Haven’t eaten it for many years, yeah, even decades – but the little key that opened the can was pretty cool.
    And at the time I was eating the stuff, the concept of email would probably have fried my brain.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

