Just When You Thought ….

This is from our local freebie paper:

The article reports that a man called Brendan Moran spotted the fish “while diving off The Men’s on the seafront”.

I have lived in Greystones for 26 years and had no idea that there is a section of our seafront called The Men’s. Perhaps there isn’t, perhaps they mean that he dived in off the roof of a public toilet.

(I feel that I owe it to Brendan Moran, without whom this post would not exist, to tell you all that the video of his encounter can be viewed in full at his website www.BrendanMoran.ie).

When I was a child growing up a few miles further up the coast the biggest threat to the men fishing off the wall of Dun Laoghaire harbour (don’t blame me, Spellcheck, that’s the name of the town) was that they might be pulled into the sea while trying to land what would invariably turn out to be a Tesco supermarket trolley. Such fish as they would occasionally catch would be tiny unidentifiable little brown things which they would look at in disgust and throw back into the water.

It never seemed to occur to them that they might be simply catching the same fish over and over again.

But if ever people doubted the theory of global warming then I offer the arrival of this new menace in evidence. If a fish that Google says is found normally in “tropical and temperate seas” has decided that the waters of Greystones are warm enough to swim in (and trust me, there are few people in our town who would agree with him) then something must have changed.

It’s just as well that we are an island, or we would soon be overrun by all sorts of creatures from warmer climes, such as rhinos, or elephants, or lions. As it is they have no way of getting here.

Unless they hitch a lift on the back of a giant Scorpion Fish.

12 thoughts on “Just When You Thought ….

  1. vivinfrance

    I’ve never seen a scorpion fish, and don’t want to, let alone touch one! The equally poisonous lion fish is much more beautiful, and might tempt you to stroke it.

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      I saw a picture of the lion fish when I was Googling the scorpion fish, Viv, it’s certainly better looking.
      But then a lion is better looking than a scorpion, so I suppose it makes sense.

      Reply
  2. Jo

    Ah, the Men’s. We used to hang out there, it is indeed called that. Nostalgic glow*

    But our waters are getting colder now we’ve lost the gulf stream, surely?

    Off to watch the scary vid!

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      So it does exist! (Jo grew up in the town I live in now). I’d have thought you were right about the gulf stream too, maybe the fish was just on holiday, like humans go to colder places for things like skiing.

      Reply
  3. Tinman Post author

    He does, doesn’t he?
    Don’t worry about me swimming there, not only is the water of Greystones absolutely freezing, but it’s protected by the stoniest beach you’ve ever seen.

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      Me too, if it involves ladies in swimsuits.

      Sorry, but I’m shallow (unlike the water around here, apparently).

      Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      I’m sure we do, Grannymar, but they are hardier souls than I am.

      My uncle used to swim every morning, summer and winter, at the Forty Foot in Sandycove before he went to work.

      And he was a bus driver. Can you imagine the time he must have had to get up at in the morning?

      Reply
  4. Jo

    Eheheheh, at the crack of dawn, I’d say…

    I got into the sea in Achill this year, I’m proud and relieved to say – pretty much propelled by shame due to the vision of the lady of older years frolicking around further in than I was.

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      Small world, Jo, (at least on the internet), you were obviously writing this at the exact same time as I was over at your gaff looking at your pictures of Achill.

      Which are lovely, by the way.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

