Morning Routine

The bus arrives just after seven, having sat tantalisingly close at the traffic lights just twenty yards away for over one minute, since the lights at Roches Pharmacy are the worst co-ordinated ones in the developed world (the undeveloped world don’t have traffic lights at all, and let me tell them they’re not missing much). I climb the stairs, fall (fairly literally) into the seat I usually occupy these days and put the ticket back into my wallet and then lift one butt-cheek off the seat while I slide the wallet back into my pocket. Then I open my man’s handbag backpack, take out my netbook and remove it from its little sleeping-bag . I turn it on, place it onto the seat beside me and, while it is slowly waking up (am I the only one who thinks computers used to come on more quickly?) I take my glasses and my iPod from my coat, then take off said coat. The netbook proudly announces itself ready with that embarrassing and horrible Windows7 greeting by then, so I type in the password (“bumber”, from an old Tinhouse story) then wince as it mades its final “I’m awake” squawk.
I put on my glasses, make sure to put the case somewhere where I won’t be able to find it when I get near the other end, put the iPod in my ears (no, not all of it, obviously) and turn it on.
I bundle my coat so as to make a table for the netbook, try it, find it’s not right, the netbook slips forward. I re-arrange the bundle and try it again. Then again. Finally I get it into a position where I can type without having to hold the netbook with one hand (God knows I’m slow enough already).
By this time we have just reached the roundabout at the bottom of the hill between Greystones and Bray so I cling to the netbook for dear life (its dear life, it was very dear) while the bus sweeps left onto the roundabout, drives right around it and then swings left off it). We start our journey along the Southern Cross Road.
Seven minutes have elapsed since the bus first hove (what’s the present tense of that?) into view at my bus stop, but as last I am ready to write.
If only I had something to write about.

16 thoughts on “Morning Routine

  1. vivinfrance

    You may not have anything to write about, but you set a mean scene!

    Your Netbook sounds as though it needs a little housekeeping: de-fragging, deleting unwanted stuff, emptying recycle bin etc. Then it will boot up more quickly.

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      I have no idea what de-fragging means, Viv, but I know how to empty the re-cycle bin, so I might start with that and work gradually up to the fragging bit.

      Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      It does, Maire, especially when the bus can arrive at any time between five to and ten past seven.

      Reply
  2. Patti

    I leave my computer on mute most of the time so I don’t hear its waking up calls.

    Present tense of hove = heave. Interesting word that, to describe a bus and its movements – “to throw with great effort”, “to vomit”, “to make rise or swell”, “to displace or move.”

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      I never knew that about “hove”, Patti. So the present tense is “the bus heaves into view” – it really sums up the 84X perfectly.

      Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      Unfortunately texting is not one of my strengths, Kate, so God knows how slow I would be on an iPhone. Still, if Mrs Tin is reading this I would be keen to try it out on an actual iPhone, say if I got one for Christmas…

      Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      It took me a while to figure it out, but I get what “keed” means.

      Your smiley, by the way, has more of a dirty laugh than a smile…..

      Reply
    2. nrhatch

      That smile is my . . . I’m being super silly so don’t pay any attention to me smile.

      Here’s my sincere smile ~ 🙂
      And my winking smile ~ 😉

      Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      Ta, LK. I have to say I’m surprised at how well this post has been received, I really felt as if I’d said nothing.

      Reply
    2. nrhatch

      Now I’ll be serious.

      This post has been well received because you used a wonderful story telling technique.

      First, I did X.
      Then Y happened.
      Then Z happened.
      Then I did A.
      And B happened.
      And C happened.

      Ira Glass talks about storytelling techniques on youtube in a series. I listened to one last night. He said if you take a mundane situation where NOTHING is happening . . . and keep moving it along with and then, and then, and then . . . people feel the forward momentum and enjoy the story. They keep thinking that something is going to happen and they stay interested.

      They pay attention.
      And they catch the little curve balls you throw their way.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

