Being Too Forward

During the Great Tinternet Crash of crash of 2011 (comparable to the Wall Street Crash of 1929 in that its effects were felt across the world, though there were fewer stockbrokers leaping out of windows) I managed to sneak in a post one Sunday in which I promised that there would be a post the following day, thanks to the wonders of post-scheduling. I even said the smart-alecky ” This means I already know what’s in it, it’s like being able to see the future, though not the useful parts like football scores and lottery numbers.”

Turns out it wasn’t.

There was nothing I could do about Tuesday the 2nd, but I persuaded myself that was ok, that missing one day was alright. But when cyberspace re-appeared I was horrified to see that both the 1st and 2nd were missing for August, making the month’s calendar on the right of this screen look like a boxer who has parried a haymaker with his face and lost two teeth as a reward.

I went investigating and discovered that my internet ineptness had let me down again. The Sunday on which this time travel exercise took place was July 31st, and I duly changed the post date to August and went off well pleased with myself.

The post will, of course, now appear on August 31st.

Don’t hold your breath. It’s not even as if it’s any good.

7 thoughts on “Being Too Forward

  1. Janie's Place

    “…making the month’s calendar on the right of this screen look like a boxer who has parried a haymaker with his face and lost two teeth as a reward.”

    I’ve always wondered what that would look like.

    Reply
  2. Inspiration to Dream

    I thought I was the only one who did this – thank goodness I’m not alone. My confusion was the English versus American date formats in blogger. I scheduled a post for what I thought was the 7th June (7/6/11) which in fact turned out to be the 6th July.

    Luckily I hadn’t told anybody I was scheduling it so I just discreetly deleted, because by the time the 6th July came around it just wasn’t relevant.

    Reply
  3. Grannymar

    I have marked my calendar and booked my seat to read your post dated Post on 31st August. I do hope it will be worth more than a post dated cheque! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

