Weekly Photo Challenge: Mountains

This week’s photo challenge is “mountains” and I have a feeling that Patti will be in a different league to me on this one. Go and have a look at some of the stunning pictures she posts of the areas near where she lives and you’ll see what I mean.

I am struggling under the slight handicap that we in Ireland don’t really do mountains. Our highest one is Carrauntoohil (I just nearly melted Spellcheck) at a dizzying 3,406 feet and anyway it’s in County Kerry, on the very far side of the country, and so won’t be featuring here.

It gives you some idea of what passes for mountains in my own county of Wicklow when I tell you that they are known both as the Wicklow Mountains and as the Wicklow Hills. The one nearest to me is the Little Sugar Loaf. This is 1,122 feet tall, about the height of Steven Seagal in stillettos.

This is a picture that I took of it from the bus this evening:

As you can see, it’s not exactly Everest, and I’m only showing that photo to prove that it actually exists. Because this genuinely was my first effort, just five seconds earlier:

When your highest mountain can be totally obscured by a car driving across a bridge then you know that mountains are not your county’s most impressive feature.

20 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Mountains

  1. Rose

    I’m use to elevations in, and close to, negative numbers so your photo is impressive! My dream home would be surrounded by Mountains and Water. One of my brother’s has just the place but also comes with way too much cold and that’s Alaska.

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      I do have mountains and the sea either side of where I live, and my dream home is of somewhere warm like Lousiana. It just shows that faraway fields are greener, and in our case less mountainous.

      Reply
      1. Rose

        That old saying “the pasture is always greener on the other side of the fence” is true. And in your case it’s really true! Right now I would trade your Emerald Isle for Hot and Steamy Louisiana!

  2. vivenne blake

    You did well to get it at all! One day we had visitors from the highlands of Scotland, and we took them a ride in the car to get the feel of our Warwickshire and Worcester scenery. We pointed out the Lickey Hills on the left, and blow me if they didn’t miss them (or at least they pretended to!)

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      Damn, that reminds me, I’d meant to mention the Irish saying “if you can see the mountains it’s going to rain, and if you can’t see the mountains it’s raining.”

      Reply
      1. Tinman Post author

        … and I’ve been and had a look. Seriously, guys, you should all see the pictures she’s posted.

    1. Tinman Post author

      Yeah, I get vertigo too. I’ve never actually been up the Sugar Loaf, I’ve just taken daft pictures of it.

      Reply
  3. laughykate

    Your mountains are dwarfs ! (I only know this because I have just done the conversion and have discovered that our highest is 12, 316 feet).

    Sigh. That’s earthquakes for you.

    Reply
    1. Tinman Post author

      You can only see that from certain places, Grannymar, thanks to the other one being nearer. I can see it from my back garden, though only if I stand on a ladder (or if I’d cut my hedge).

      Reply
  4. Patti

    That’s higher than any mountains in the state where I grew up (Indiana) – and when I saw the challenge was MOUNTAINS – I hardly knew what to do! I’ve used too many mountains for other things. So what could I do? I used feet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

