Blog Meets Slog

Tinson1 has taken up archery. His first lesson was last night and he arrived home with a strange leather strap that goes over his wrist to prevent friction burn and with a quiver with two pointless arrows in it, if you know what I mean.

He was not permitted to bring home the bow, though I wouldn’t count that as carrying a concealed weapon unless he found some way of sticking it down the front of his trousers and walking like John Wayne.

The point of this tale, though, takes place the night before, when he first announced he was doing it, and I said “but you did that before”, and then realised that he hadn’t.

A couple of years ago I revealed exclusively here that Shakespeare had been a blogger, writing as Bardman, and I published some excerpts from his blog (yes, I’m linking to old posts, so what, it’s the summer, even the BBC show repeats).

In one of Shakespeare’s posts he announces that Bardson1 has taken up archery and this was what was in my head when I said it.

I’ve mentioned here before that while Tingirl and I were looking for a book at home one day we came across Philip Pullman’s The Tin Princess and I said to her “look, that’s you” a fraction of a second before I remembered that she had no idea she was called Tingirl (she has, though, always known that she’s a princess).

These are two examples of the kind of thing that happens when the blogosphere meets the slogosphere, which is the reason for the title of this post (I felt that my original title, “Life Imitating Art“ hinted at dangerous delusions of grandeur).

*

(And that was to be the end of this post. This sentence was not originally going to be here, but the spellchecker in Microsoft Works, where I typed this on the bus, kept trying to substitute “blogosphere“ with “photosphere“ (I didn’t even know that was a word) and there was something surreal and touching about the fact it did it each time, so that each time I tried to tell you that it had happened I end up with the phrase “to substitute photosphere with photosphere“.

It settled for drawing a disconsolate red line under “slogosphere”. I think I’ve broken its spirit.

6 thoughts on “Blog Meets Slog

  1. vivienne Blake

    Spellcheck frequently gets it wrong. I mostly ignore it, thus posting garbled gobbledegook sometimes! I’m new to your blog, so I’m sorry I missed your Shakespeare season.

    Reply
  2. Janie's Place

    While I call the spud the spud in real life, or in the slogosphere (inclusive of red wavy line), I have pseudonyms for everyone else in my blogosphere. Occasionally I forget and can’t figure out why Rupert isn’t coming when I call his name. Once I accidentally caught myself about to call my old boss by her name in my blog. How embarrassing if I had slipped.

    All grandeur aside, and here is the philosophical part of this comment, if this is life imitating art, what is art imitating life? Would we even be able to tell the difference?

    Reply
  3. Tilly Bud

    I talk about the Hub and Spud to my friends who don’t read my blog, and they look at me as if I’m nuts.

    Really, they are the nuts – I mean, they don’t read my blog…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

