Prodigal Son

As most of the world knows, yesterday was Father’s Day. This is a picture of my mantelpiece yesterday evening:

The cards are homemade, as we always insist upon in our house. The red card on the right is from Tingirl, the one in the middle is from Tinson1, who admitted that it was his second attempt, as just before he gave me his first one he realised it said “Happy Birthday” on it (still, he passed his Second Year Science exams on Friday, at the moment he can do no wrong).

So the one on the far left is obviously Tinson2’s, you’re thinking. Well, no. The one on the left is in my writing, and says “This space is reserved for Tinson2’s card (I know it’s coming)”.

(See, even out in the slogosphere I use a lot of brackets.)

This is why the first sentence of this post says “as most of the world” rather than “as the whole world”.

In fairness to him he had made a card but as always had got up ten minutes before he had to go out and meet his mates and had forgotten to give it to me, then didn’t arrive home until after midnight.

Anyway, putting up my own card was funnier, and the debate as to whether he should be left any of the cake they got for me was entertaining (it was a tie, he got some because I had the casting vote).

So in his own way, and entirely without intending to, he gave me quite a good Father’s Day gift.

2 thoughts on “Prodigal Son

  1. Grannymar

    Hope you didn’t think I had deserted my dancing partner… life kinda got in the way, but I am back and will work backwards through all your posts until I meet myself coming forwards.

    Great cards and great fun. Any cake left?

    Reply
  2. Janie's Place

    ‘ello. Turnabout is fair play in my neck of the woods, so I thought I’d check you out. I like your brand of insanity, too.

    The comment about using brackets makes me laugh, and oddly enough reminds me of, what I believe to be, a clever anecdote harkening back into the dark ages of early email use. It used to be before you had all these fancy point and click options for things like bold, italics or underlining, and one found it necessary to create emphasis and one also didn’t know html code, one would resort to the use of _underscores_ to illustrate that emphasis.

    Fast forward, say, 15 years and Janie is still using _underscores_ to denote emphasis. Janie is just a little behind the times. However, in November of 2008 dear Leif determined to drag my typing kicking and screaming into the twenty first century and made it known, in no uncertain terms, that visual speed bumps, aka underscores, are henceforth verboten. I thought they illustrated one’s character, but he declares that as I am a visual speed bump I need not advertise it…. What ever _that_ means…..

    Cheerio!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

