Weekly Photo Challenge: Round

This week’s Photo Challenge is “Round”. I usually leave these topics alone since, as I’ve said before, I’m not really a photographer, and such photos as I do take are taken with my mobile phone.

And today’s photograph shows why I shouldn’t bother. The “round” refers to the ball, and I think it’s fair to say that it doesn’t exactly fill the picture with its presence.

In fact the most interesting thing about the photo is that it is proof that a picture does not always tell a thousand words. This one, for example, shouts the words”bright spring sunshine”, but the words “chilly”, “biting” and “breeze” do not form part of its vocabulary.

The reason I took the picture is that the blue patch at the top of the ball is Eeyore the donkey, and his numerous friends (a bear, a pig, a tiger, surely the ultimate example of how we can all get on despite our differences) are dotted elsewhere about the ball.

It’s a Winnie the Pooh ball, and as our youngest child is 14 then the ball must be at least ten years old.
Yet the paving and the gravel are not yet ten years old. The wall being knocked through to the little side section happened less than ten years ago. Just last year the gravel had all to be taken up so that a sewage pipe through which a tree root had broken could be replaced (I wrote about how gross it all was here, so this is not my first post involving the word pooh). At several stages over the last decade the garden has looked like a building site, mainly because it was a building site.

And somehow this ball has survived it all, with snow, rain and the dregs of a thousand mugs of builders’ tea falling about it. As I looked at it I could picture in my mind a succession of balls (the other name for my blog) and various pairs of chubby little legs barely the height of the ball itself waddling up to one and push-kicking it with enough force to drive it about six inches.

I hope we keep it forever, because it is a link to a past that has passed by all too quickly.

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Round

  1. speccy

    That’s lovely.
    Also, I’m a sucker for anything involving Winnie the Pooh- I actually just started drafting a post about him and his mates last night 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

