Serious Topic

This is WordPress’s suggested topic for today:

What will change, for you, for the U.S., for the world, now that Osama is gone? Or it will it not have much of an effect at all?

I had wondered all day, even before I read that (the topics only get here in the evening) whether to write about Bin Laden or not. This is not that type of blog, I generally keep away from the more serious topics. But it’s very hard to ignore a day like today.

In the short term the world may become a scarier place, as there may be attempted reprisals. Long term it might make very little difference, he had played little part in running Al Qaeda for years now.

I don’t know what it will mean for people in the US, but I wonder if any of them think like me. The man planned an evil attack and persuaded deluded men to carry it out while he hid away in safety. He then evaded capture for so long that it looked as if he would live out his life free from punishment.

Though I used hate to admit it, this always felt to me that he had won. And that’s what has changed for me today.

2 thoughts on “Serious Topic

  1. Patti

    I think you may be right – maybe that’s why I could only feel sad at the news. He made it 10 years after the deed – long enough for most of the youngest generation to have little awareness of his existence. He didn’t have much of a life in that decade, perhaps, but how many other lives were lost in seeking him out? But it is the way of the world – nothing new under the sun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

