In Absentia

I was all but absent from my blog during the week. Because it was the first week of the month and therefore my busiest time I wrote something each day on the bus, pasted it into my blog when I got home, nicked a few pictures from Google Images and then more or less fell into bed.

To my shame I haven’t had time to read what you’ve all been up to, and I look forward to spending tomorrow catching up.

But not today. Because today I am more absent than ever.

WordPress claim that you can set a post to publish at some selected time in the future, and if they are right then I’m not actually here at all. It’s like one of those Christmas Night versions of popular panel shows that you know were actually recorded in October.

At the time this publishes I will be on a boat to the UK, and depending on what time you read it at I might be in a car heading from Wales to Manchester, might be in a bar in Manchester, might be at Manchester United v Fulham, might be in a bar in Manchester, might be in a car heading from Manchester to Wales, or might be on a boat from the UK.

There is a very small chance that you will read it at a time when I am eating something, but I wouldn’t bet on it.

A group of people I know undertake this trip regularly, travelling for about fourteen hours to watch 90 minutes of football that is on TV in our local. Every now and then one of them will drop out, possibly to have their liver replaced, and they will look for a volunteer to fill the vacancy.

I volunteered once, about 17 months ago, and I think that I wrote at the time that I would never do it again, since it took me about a week to recover.

I am doing it again, I think on the same basis that women go through childbirth for a second time, in that it can’t possibly have been as gruelling as we remember it being.

Women generally find out that in fact it is, if not more so.

I will, as I said, be here tomorrow. I might just be typing very quietly.

5 thoughts on “In Absentia

  1. Tilly Bud

    I don’t know whether I’m more appalled that you’re not calling in to see me while you’re here, or that you are visiting the red side of Manchester.

    Reply
  2. speccy

    oh now, sssh, quiet everyone, the head is tender






    *distributes colourful noisy blowy things that you’d have in the house the weekend of a tenth birthday*






    WELCOME BACK TINMAN, hope you enjoyed the win

    Reply
  3. Tinman Post author

    Tilly, yesterday would not have been a good day to call, you wouldn’t have seen me at my best. And I do know from your blog that you are all City fans, and hope that it doesn’t come between us. Would it help if I say I think Joe Hart’s the best goalkeeper in the league?
    Grannymar, thank you for thinking about my behind chair while I was away, that was very caring of you.
    Whereas you, Speccy, have an evil and twisted mind, which is probably what brought you here in the first place.

    Reply
  4. jmg

    We will be watching the highlights and looking out for you but I am for Fulham aussie goal keeper and not ManU. I guess we all have our dark side even you. Thank you for no comment on results,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

