WordPress Made Me Do It

I’ve written before about how I believe that I have a Ghost Writer, the spirit of some long dead scribe who knows exactly what writer’s block feels like and so places strange events and co-incidences in my path so as to give me more interesting posts.

After I finished the St Patrick’s Day post yesterday I had a look at WordPress’s daily prompt, to see if it would give me any ideas for today. It said:

Grab the nearest book to you right now. Jump to paragraph 3, second Sentence. Write it in a post.

So this morning I decided to try it.  I went to a bookshelf in the living room, looked away and picked a book at random. And this where Ghost Writer helped out, moving my unknowing hand to a particular book.

The book on the right is the book I grabbed. It’s called “Gail of the Whales” by Siobhán Parkinson, it’s a children’s book which one of the Tinkids must have read at some stage, and the blurb at the back describes it as “a powerful and haunting coming-of-age novel”. I looked at, shrugged and decided to give it a go.

Below, starting with “He said”,  is the third paragraph. Have a look at the second sentence.

I don’t know how many people all over the world tried that yesterday, but I bet none of them got anything like that.

WordPress further suggests: “Make up a sentence to follow the first one, but make it go in an entirely different direction that the actual book does.”

Sorry, but that’s not going to happen.

4 thoughts on “WordPress Made Me Do It

  1. Jo

    Oh, holy crap. Taht’s the funniest one of these I’ve ever seen. Erm – I’ve never seen it used as a blog prompt, more as an I ching sort of thing.

    Best laugh today, and i’m in the middle of an Awkward Family Photos fest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

