Hi Ho Silver

Another milestone today, one that’s been far harder to achieve than giving up the fags a piece of piss (she does sometimes read this).

And quite a short post, because I’m in a hurry. It’s 5.45 a.m. as I write this, as I need to be at work at half past seven. This is because today is the deadline for the reports that we have to produce at the end of each month, and if at all possible I want to have them finished as quickly as possible so that I don’t have to work late (I spent from 7.30a.m. to 8.30 p.m. in the office yesterday trying to make sure I achieve this).

The reason that I want to get out early is that the Tinkids, Mrs Tin and I are going out for dinner, and the reason for that is that today’s our wedding anniversary.

Our 25th.

It’s really more a milestone of achievement for Mrs Tin than it is for me, as she’s had to put up with my mental and physical issues,as well as just me being me, while all that time she’s just been her – a great, kind girl.

It’s hard to believe that a quarter of a century (to put it into perpsective, it was the Saturday before Live Aid) has passed since two very young people stood side by side taking the first step that has led to today. How quickly time passes.

Sorry, that last phrase sounded melancholic (did I mention that it’s not six o’clock yet?) and today’s not a day for that. Today’s a day to celebrate our day, our children, our life.

Happy Anniversary Mrs Tin.

Tinman x

7 thoughts on “Hi Ho Silver

  1. Mwa

    Live Aid’s THAT long ago? I’m getting OLD! 😉

    Seriously – congratulations. That’s quite a while to stick it out.

    Reply
  2. vdog

    Well done – good on you both. Yesterday I met a couple who will celebrate their 61st anniversary tomorrow – I hope you and Mrs Tin carry on and hit a milestone like that.

    Reply
  3. tinman18 Post author

    Thanks, guys, we had a lovely time and are now planning where we’ll go for our 50th – some restaurant where they’ll cut the food up really small, probably.

    Reply
  4. laughykate

    Hey Tincouple! Congratulations! (Mrs Tin, if you do read this – to be as bold as to speak collectively for commenters – we love Tinman, especially when he’s feeling crackers).

    Reply
  5. kickoutthejams

    Congrats to you and Mrs Tin – 1985 was also the first year Springsteen came to Ireland. I think he’s been returning to celebrate your anniversary since then…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

