Mio Padre

Yesterday, of course, was Father’s Day. Last year I published this picture of the cards my children had made for me, on a day otherwise devoid of presents of any kind:

Imagine my surprise, then, when this year I received not just the usual selection of home-made hallmarkery (and needless to say I much prefer them to any card bought in any shop), but also  the collection of booty displayed below:

I have to admit I find this a bit worrying. Do they know something I don’t know? Am I ill? (“Are you serious, Tinman”, I hear you say. “You, ill?”).

Well, you know what I mean.

Anyway, during the afternoon an interesting event occurred, especially on Father’s Day of all days. I had to drive Tingirl and two of her friends to another friend’s house. As they got out of the car one of the girls turned to me and said “are you half-Italian?”.

“Er, no,” said Tingirl quickly, “I just made that up”.

Huh???

4 thoughts on “Mio Padre

  1. Kick Out The Jams

    Noah made me a card in school, according to him “We do fugol together”. I hope that’s supposed to be “football” (even if the spelling and sentence structure needs to be worked on) otherwise I’m not much of a dad…

    Reply
  2. Jo

    Hahahaa, fugal, and hahahahahha, are you half Italian, er no I just made that up. Laffffs.

    Did you ask her what the hell??

    Reply
  3. A Frend

    My sister’s friends are convinced she hired our parents to play the part of her parents, because her version of her childhood is so very different (and less convincing) than my brother’s.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

